book review: shatter me – tahereh mafi

Shatter-Me-2

Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi
Series: Shatter Me
Published November 15th 2011 by Harper
Genre: young adult, dystopia, romance, supernatural

links: Amazon | Book Depository | Goodreads

Overall Rating: 4/5★

Goodreads summary:


I
have a curse
I have a gift

I am a monster
I’m more than human

My touch is lethal
My touch is power

I am their weapon
I will fight back

Juliette hasn’t touched anyone in exactly 264 days.

The last time she did, it was an accident, but The Reestablishment locked her up for murder. No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal. As long as she doesn’t hurt anyone else, no one really cares. The world is too busy crumbling to pieces to pay attention to a 17-year-old girl. Diseases are destroying the population, food is hard to find, birds don’t fly anymore, and the clouds are the wrong color.

The Reestablishment said their way was the only way to fix things, so they threw Juliette in a cell. Now so many people are dead that the survivors are whispering war – and The Reestablishment has changed its mind. Maybe Juliette is more than a tortured soul stuffed into a poisonous body. Maybe she’s exactly what they need right now.

Juliette has to make a choice: Be a weapon. Or be a warrior.

The writing was beautiful, and intriguing. I never read another book with such a writing style. I was pleasantly surprised that the writing style didn’t annoy me as I thought it would, instead it enhances the reading experience. The strikethrough of words  allowed me to follow Juliette’s flow of thoughts. The repetition of saying certain words three times were used very appropriately and wasn’t used abruptly.

Shatter Me gave me a X-Men vibe because Juliette has an ability. It was fast-paced, there’s instant love between Adam and Juliette which bugged me a little but it was understandable since she never had contact with ANYONE because of her power.

Since it’s a dystopian novel, the society is basically messed up. The new government didn’t bother about the citizens’ well-being. They only cared for themselves while the majority suffered.

Juliette is afraid of her ability, she doesn’t want to learn how to control them because she felt so hopeless. That was a thing that bothered me. Juliette was this scared little mouse that never wants to venture out of her comfort zone, she didn’t want to find out her potential because she’s afraid. So her potential wasn’t shining. But I think she would be able to in the rest of the trilogy.

Juliette met Adam very quickly and somehow they managed to fall in love in the midst of all the chaos happening around them. I thought Adam couldn’t be trusted at the beginning because their meeting was quite sudden, but after I changed my thoughts of him. He’s very protective, loyal and skilful.

Warner is a strong character. He irked me so much in Shatter Me, I can’t see him as someone Juliette can be with. He’s obsessed about Juliette, he puts her in the worst situations. He’s a guy with many issues and he has many hidden motives.

Shatter Me was an interesting read. If you want to pick up a dystopian trilogy, this is for you. I flew through Shatter Me within a day or two. There was action, romance and friendship all in one book. I gave it 4/5 ★ because the writing was beautiful, and there were interesting characters.

Thank you for reading! I hope you will like this book if you decided to pick it up.

love. belle.

“I want to fall asleep to the sound of his heartbeating in the atmosphere. I want to know he’s alive and well, breathing in and out, strong and save and healthy forever.”

 

Leave a Reply

