book review: harry potter and the cursed child by jk rowling

Harry_Potter_and_the_Cursed_Child_Special_Rehearsal_Edition_Book_CoverHarry Potter and the Cursed Child by JK Rowling
Series: Harry Potter
Published July 31st 2016 by Arthur A. Levine Books
Genre: fantasy, young adult, play, magic

links: Amazon | Book Despository | Goodreads

Overall rating: 3.5/5★

 

Goodreads summary:

It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places.

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child was incredibly nostalgic even though I’ve only read the whole Harry Potter series about 6 years ago. I’m bummed that I’m not in London to watch the actual play since I’m across the globe but at least I had the script with me. *still sobbing*

Throughout the book, I was simply reminiscing everything about the trio and their partners and Draco. It was such a sentimental throwback and many of my favourite moments were derived from the novels. There were so many heart-warming moments and heart-wrenching moments that kept me wanting more. We got to see more of Severus which I absolutely loved. I’ve only seen him be mean, hateful towards Harry and always finding opportunities to deduct points from Gyrffindor in the novels, but it showed a different part of him this time and it made me tear a little bit.

From the start, I didn’t had a good impression of Albus. His ignorance pissed me off so badly. What made him think that turning back in time is a good idea? He was just being reckless and not understanding towards his father. He got better towards the ending so he isn’t my least favourite person in this book. However, there were very little room for character-development.

Scorpius was amazing, he’s so different from Albus. He’s sweet, kind and adorable. He’s so silly around Rose which made me grin so much every time she gave him the Hermione treatment to Ron in the first book. IS IN SOME FORM DRAMIONE HAPPENING?!

There were plot holes here and there in the script but I’m giving it the benefit of the doubt since this script is based on the play which unlike a full-blown novel, some things just can’t be sorted out as perfectly and logically as possible.

I can’t rate it while comparing with the other novels of the Harry Potter series since it’s technically a script. The script doesn’t encompass many details and the logic behind many things wouldn’t add up but it is a nostalgic read, and if you just want a continuation after the last book, the script will give you a certain level of closure. I gave it 3.5 stars out of 5 for the characters and basically all the feels of being in the Harry Potter world again.

This is the end of the review, I hoped you enjoyed it! Tell me what you think about the book.

love.belle.

“be honest to those you love, show your pain. to suffer is as human as to breathe.”

 

 

One thought on “book review: harry potter and the cursed child by jk rowling

Leave a Reply

