book review: the raven king by maggie stiefvater

17378527The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater
Series: The Raven Cycle
Published April 26th 2016 by Scholastic Press
Genre: fantasy, young adult, paranormal

links: Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

overall rating: 5/5★

Goodreads summary:

All her life, Blue has been warned that she will cause her true love’s death. She doesn’t believe in true love and never thought this would be a problem, but as her life becomes caught up in the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys, she’s not so sure anymore.

I LOVED THE RAVEN KING!!! I’m still reliving all the wonderful experiences I had while reading even though it was quite a while ago. Since it’s the last book in the series, I was excited yet worried about the ending. The worry intensified especially since Gansey’s fate was already known.

Everything fell in place in The Raven King, and all questions are answered. Some of the ideas involving ley lines and magic may be quite difficult to understand, but the last book solidified all ideas and made the characters even more lovable (didn’t know it was possible for me to love the characters even more than I already did. *sigh*). The build up to the end was heartbreaking, incredibly difficult to read but also heart-warming and happy.

Similar to the previous books, the friendships and relationships  developed even further with the hardships and relevations they faced every time. (I’M USING PURAL FOR RELATIONSHIPS GUYS, AND I’M SO HAPPY MY SHIPS HAVE SAILED!!!). Ronan, who was once so isolated and hateful of everything, began to open up and accepting all the help his friends are offering him. Every one of them are so unique and are such three-dimension characters. I LOVE EVERY SINGLE ONE OF THEM. *heart eyes*

My heart felt like it was stabbed but healed a thousand times while I was reading The Raven King. The poetic writing of Maggie Stiefvater triggered so many wonderful yet solemn feelings in me. The last few pages of The Raven King was so difficult to read because I was overwhelmed with emotions (also, my tears were streaming down my face, I couldn’t see properly).

Please read The Raven Cycle if you haven’t because it’s simply amazing. I don’t think I’ve ever been this enthralled by a book series and its characters for every long. Blue, Gansey, Noah, Ronan and Adam’s story is worth the read.

Let me know what’s your thought on The Raven King in the comments!!

love.belle.

This dreamer was all of that to an extreme, a new king in his invented kingdom.

Leave a Reply

