jan’17 wrap up

Hello friends! Happy New Year! hope jan was a great start to the new year for you, it had been a successful reading month for me & I celebrated Chinese New Year!! It’s one of my favourite celebration ever because I get to eat and receive red packets and families and friends gather. It had been so good meeting up with everybody. I think I had a rather good reading month with 10 books. woohoo!

  1. Cress by Marissa Meyer

Cress is such a lovable character because after being hidden and imprisoned at a young age, she is really naive and pure. Instantly she fell in love with ‘super-hero’ Thorne, but unlike the other instant-love trope, IT’S THE CUTEST THING EVER!

200_s

Their whole journey brings them to different places, and instead of only knowing the crew, you get to read about the other Earthens and who they put their faith in.

(full review here)

 

2. Fairest by Marissa Meyer

Fairest is the story of Queen Levana and how she came to reign over Lunar. It was a different take on Levana since all we know her in the other books is that she’s an evil queen with no quealms of murdering people who crosses her path to success.

(full review here)

 

3. Winter by Marissa Meyer

I loved Winter so much, the concluding book made me fangirl over all of the couples in just 800 pages even during a revolution. It showed how brave and strong every characters are and how much they had grown since Cinder, the first book. Winter is unpredictable and I love how she seek Jacin to anchor her to the ground when she has her moments. More of my thoughts and rambles of how much I love Winter will be linked. I suggest you read the book first and then return to my spoiler section and fangirl with me.

tumblr_nj21zgvl261tq4of6o1_500

(full review here)

 

4. Stars Above by Marissa Meyer

Almost all the stories in Stars Above involved every character’s past. How they came about to be who they are, and how things changed for them under Levana’s rule. It definitely made me hate Levana more. However, the most important part in Stars Above was the wedding. It made me feel so much feels again! I need more weddings please. One is not enough, especially when it’s written so beautifully and the whole crew is there!

(full review here)

18367581

5. Afterworlds by Scott Westerfeld

Afterworlds had a very unique format where there are two stories in one book. One story is about Darcy writing her book, ‘Afterworlds’ and the other is about Lizzie who is the main character of Afterworlds. The pace and enjoyment while reading the book gets disrupted very easily due to the formating. However, the emotions and experience of both main characters felt very real. I’ll be talking about Afterworlds more in my full review.

(full review here)

6 & 7. Checkmate: This is War  & Checkmate: This is Love by Kennedy Fox

I first came across this two books were because of an aesthetic on Twitter. It’s in the new adult genre, it’s steamy and the plot is simple yet have interesting characters. This is War and This is Love are in ebooks and are super fast reads.

(GOODREADS SUMMARY)

 

8. The Wrath and The Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

The Wrath and The Dawn was amazing, so damn good. I loved the dynamic and romance between the two main characters. Renee Ahdieh has such a beautiful and romantic writing style, I fell in love with the world pretty instantly when she started describing the cities, the clothes, the food and the people. Even the secondary characters are really interesting and I adore Despina and Jalal, but I didn’t really like Tariq. The Wrath and The Dawn was captivating and the romance in the book was awesome.

(full review here)

 

9. Fantastic Beasts and Where To Find Them: The Original Screenplay by JK Rowling

It’s a whole new experience reading the screenplay. Little details are so easily forgotten or looked over in the movies but the screenplay cleared so much of my doubts. I enjoyed the movie and the screenplay greatly, and Eddie Redmayne is such a fantastic Newt Scamander, a wonderful Hufflepuff. But, I didn’t like Tina Goldstein, she irked me so much because of all the things she did to prove her self-worth to the higher up, without thinking about any consequences. However, she got better by the end of the film, so I think my opinion of her will change positively in the next few films. It is still as magical as the Harry Potter series, and the nostalgia just hit me right in the feels.

1485701281427
(my aesthetic for fantastic beasts and where to find them) 

 

10. The Allure of Dean Harper by R.S. Grey

After a marathon of books in the fantasy genre, I decided to read a light-hearted romance novel. The Allure of Dean Harper is a new adult romance, it gets quite steamy but not very extreme. The story progressed quickly yet it doesn’t feel rushed at all. There’s so many times I burst out laughing at how hilarious Lily is, and then Dean would always find a way to rebut her. Lily is so hot-headed, witty and doesn’t give a crap about what others say about her. Dean is stubborn, snappy and doesn’t like his abilities or decisions to be questioned. Their attraction to each other started from the beginning, it was fun watching them banter and sort their feelings out. I give it a 4★ for the characters, romance and friendships in the book.

“Jo, I love you. I really do, but if you touch my crepes, I’m gonna have to stab you with my fork.”


This is the end of my january wrap up!

Winter and The Wrath and The Dawn were my favourite and 5 stars book this month. What had been your favourite or 5 stars book(s) of jan? tell me in the comments!

love. belle.

Leave a Reply

