review: siege and storm by leigh bardugo

14061955Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo
Series: The Grisha trilogy
Published June 4th 2013 by Henry Holt and Company
Genre: fantasy, romance, young adult, magic

links: Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

rating:4/5★

summary:

Darkness never dies.

Hunted across the True Sea, haunted by the lives she took on the Fold, Alina must try to make a life with Mal in an unfamiliar land. She finds starting new is not easy while keeping her identity as the Sun Summoner a secret. She can’t outrun her past or her destiny for long.

The Darkling has emerged from the Shadow Fold with a terrifying new power and a dangerous plan that will test the very boundaries of the natural world. With the help of a notorious privateer, Alina returns to the country she abandoned, determined to fight the forces gathering against Ravka. But as her power grows, Alina slips deeper into the Darkling’s game of forbidden magic, and farther away from Mal. Somehow, she will have to choose between her country, her power, and the love she always thought would guide her–or risk losing everything to the oncoming storm.

The start of Siege and Storm drew me into the world instantly, it was bringing back the action and the wonder of Grishaverse. The fight, passion and power was spectacularly done and I was loving it. The action lasted for only awhile, which was a little disappointing. The whole pace of the book slowed down in the middle and then picked up at the end.

Siege and Storm felt like the calm before a storm, making it like a filler book. There were more waiting and development without action being included in it making it feel slow.

One thing I absolutely loved was the change in scenery. Their adventures on the sea were amazing and I enjoyed every moment they were on the ship.

Alina is in a better position in Siege and Storm than in Shadow and Bone. She became more decisive and stands on her ground with her opinions much longer than before. She’s no longer extremely dependent on others but what frustrates me is that she hides a lot, and that make things hard for people around her. Especially Mal.

I came to like Mal. He’s sweet and loyal to Alina, and he just wants Alina to see him as he is. But, it seemed like he only love certain parts of her. Not her Grisha side but the past Alina. The young girl he grew up with and during these moments, he resembles an overly jealous boyfriend and really immature. AND THEY DON’T COMMUNICATE AT ALL. (i was in so much agony when they don’t talk things through.. ugh…..)

At the same time, the Darkling is plaguing Alina’s mind. As much as he’s a tyrant who wants to dominate the world, I can’t seem to hate him because he’s such an interesting character. I realised I don’t know much about the Darkling since his presence in Siege and Storm is minimal so the extent of his powers and the destructions that he potentially can cause isn’t scaring me nor am I always reminded of it. Even though he did grow stronger, his potential of being a villain isn’t at its peak.

Nikolai is such a wonderful addition. He’s charming, cheeky and witty. People just like him straight away, I know I did. I can’t wait to read more about Tamar and Tolya because I already like them. Tamar is a great fighter and is properly trained and she’s awesome. I might like her more than Alina, please don’t shoot me people.

I see the world in a clearer light and the places are becoming more vivid. I can’t wait for Ruin and Rising, the last installment to the Grisha trilogy. I really just want to witness everything go haywire and Alina stepping up to fix everything. I’m hoping for more action though, and I hope Mal grows up too.

oh, and another thing, the edition of siege and storm that i own doesn’t have a map, so it made things so hard, but luckily they use the same map in ruin and rising so i was saved. make sure you are reading the edition with the map in it, it’s so much easier! and who doesn’t like a book with maps?

That will be it for my review! Who’s your favourite person in Seige and Storm? Tamar definitely stole the show for me. I really liked that she’s a fighter.

love. belle.

“You were in my cabin.”
“Many women dream of me,” he said lightly as he steered me down the deck.

1487501891530

(my aesthetic for siege and storm)

2 thoughts on “review: siege and storm by leigh bardugo

Leave a Reply

