review + discussion: a court of thorns and roses by sarah j maas

16096824A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas
Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses
Published May 5th 2015 by Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Genre: young adult, new adult, romance, fantasy

links: Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

rating: 5/5★

Goodreads summary:

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

I’ve put off ACOTAR for such a long time. A major reason why I didn’t read it when it was published was because of the overwhelming hype around ACOTAR and Throne of Glass series. I didn’t want to feel obliged to read ACOTAR since everyone was reading it and I didn’t want to be disappointed since it’s such a well-known book. To which I say, I’m not disappointed at all and I was pleasantly surprise at every turn. The story flowed smoothly and the storyline always picks up when I thought things were slowing down.

Feyre is probably one of my favourite female protagonist because of her attitude and her personality. She takes care off her family even though they can be difficult most of the time, and she’s one of the toughest female characters I’ve ever read about. Her ability to overcome horrifying and cruel trials with such vigor which made me like her even more.

I don’t really have anything to say about Tamlin actually. I think he’s a sweet guy and genuinely likes Feyre, and he’s been through enough. It’s clear that Tamlin loves his people and his court, and would go to great lengths to protect them.

Rhysand is a mystery, and a bad boy so I see people’s attraction towards him. I want to know about his past and know the person behind the mask.

Lucien is amazing, his background story was brutal and really depressing but I love how different Lucien is compared to the people he’s related to. He was skeptical about certain things but it’s all due to his past. I’m hoping there’s more of him in ACOMAF.

The world was beautifully crafted, it was described in such beautiful writing. I got into Sarah J Mass’s style of writing really easily. I can’t wait to explore more courts and just let my imagination run wild in this series. It’s six books long and I have high expectations for ACOMAF especially with all the hype.

I’m a huge disney princesses fan and I knew that ACOTAR is based off of Beauty and the Beast but I was still caught off guard so many times. I’m disappointed in myself that I didn’t catch the similarities but I also loved that I didn’t since it would be too predictable.

I took only one day, ONE DAY, to finish this awesome book. I couldn’t stop reading because of the pace, and problems just keep rolling in one after the other. I do have some problems with it but I had a wonderful time reading ACOTAR.


GOING INTO THE SPOILER SECTION! LET ME KNOW WHAT’S YOUR THOUGHTS ABOUT ACOTAR AND WHO YOU SHIP FEYRE WITH!!


nesta… i’ve never felt so furious about a character before, she made me want to punch her so badly because she was such a snob and basically, a horrible person. angryit took only the first chapter into the book that made me hate her. elain and their dad too.. all of them left everything for feyre who is the youngest. nesta didn’t want to chop the woods and demands for a good pair of boots when she already had one pair in good condition while feyre was wearing a torn up one. she was such a brat and thinks she’s so entitled. *huffs* but thank goodness she had a slight change in personality and decided that she needs to step up as the eldest and actually do something.

it felt so wrong when andras just let feyre kill him but i didn’t connect it to the curse. when alis finally told feyre about the curse and everything else, i was screaming internally. i couldn’t believe i overlooked that. (i deserve the facepalm i gave to myself) also, the curse as awfully specific.. i would’ve liked it better if it wasn’t so clear, because it became too much of a coincidence.

i liked how we got glimpses of the other courts like lucien’s autumn court. man, they are brutal and why do they let brothers kill each other. that’s horrible. and the summer court faerie whose wings got cut off by amarantha. the great rite ritual was a little weirdly uncomfortable?? i can’t find a better word for it. i didn’t like how tamlin doesn’t tell feyre why she has to stay in her room during the calanmai because if he told her the truth SHE WOULD HAVE STAYED THE HELL OUT OF YOUR WAY.

out of the three tasks which feyre had to complete to get tamlin back, the first one was the most exciting and my favourite. to witness her think and plot the demise of the worm in such a short span of time was amazing. (felt a little hunger games or when cedric and harry had to run away in the maze in goblet of fire). Tumblr_lw61m3dKCf1qgt0vro7_r1_250 i was captivated throughout the whole task. then comes the second task, all i was thinking about is: WHY DIDN’T YOU LEARN HOW TO READ WHEN YOU WERE IN SPRING COURT!? WHY DIDN’T YOU LET TAMLIN HELP YOU!!!? thank goodness for rhysand’s eye tattoo though. and the third task, why is tamlin’s heart made of stone?? I NEED TO KNOW

now that he got his powers back from amarantha, rhysand’s going to be even more powerful. for now, i can’t really ship feyre and him together. i mean he did drug her during the parties and got her the tattoo. but he did save her life when amarantha came finding for feyre and he told amarantha another name. he is far more interesting than tamlin because his motives are unclear AND he did stumble a little bit at the end of ACOTAR. i wonder what’s going on. it’s complicated…

giphy1surprisingly feyre is illiterate and a painter while belle in beauty and the beast is an avid reader. i loved this unexpected change. this made feyre totally different from belle.


this is the end of my review of acotar! i can’t wait to read acomaf and know more about rhysand and the night court.


LET ME KNOW WHAT YOUT THINK ABOUT ACOTAR!!

love.belle

“Don’t feel bad for one moment about what brings you joy.”

1488129703111

(my aesthetic of a court of thorns and roses)

9 thoughts on “review + discussion: a court of thorns and roses by sarah j maas

  1. Books and Mirth says:

    OH MY GOD if you love Rhysand (god I love him) then YOU NEED TO READ ACOMAF! LIKE GO GET IT RIGHT NOW I SWEAR ALL OF THE FEELS. I honestly didn’t like ACOTAR at all, but ACOMAF is AMAZING!

    Like

Leave a Reply

