jan to mar’17 book haul

Hello friends! I decided to control myself by buying books every three months. So like the four seasons, I’m buying books 4 times a year. This is the way I’m controlling myself instead of going on a book buying ban, but it also feels like I’m punishing myself. ugh. The struggle is real.

So for this book haul, I purchased 13 books and a fairyloot box’s anniversary box. It cost an arm and a leg but it’s worth it.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

  1. Illuminae & Gemina – Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman

I’ve heard so many great reviews of The Illuminae Files, this series have been on my TBR for ages. The format of the novels is what attracted me initally, it’s very different from the ususal style where it’s just words. I’m going into this series not knowing anything, I have zero clue of what the premise is and am not planning to. The hardcovers are so beautiful guys, you just have to have it. The desire to put down everything and start reading Illuminae is real.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

2. Six of Crows & Crooked Kingdom – Leigh Bardugo

KAZ. A name everyone is talking about BUT I DON’T KNOW WHO! I know I know, how can I right? I’m ready to redeem myself and join the gang. I can’t wait to dive right into the Grishaverse again since I read the Grisha trilogy just last month. But, I heard Six of Crows is far better than the Grish trilogy. Can’t wait to dive into the world with different characters, it’s going to be fun!

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

3. Red Queen & Glass Sword & King’s Cage – Victoria Aveyard

Like Illuminae, and probably every other book that’s in my TBR, I have no idea of the plot or the characters. Basically, I don’t know anything. After King’s Cage was published, I decided I shouldn’t wait any longer. Also, the covers are STUNNING, so that’s one thing. I meant to read Red Queen ever since it was published and I even got the paperback. Shamefully, I left it on my shelf and picked some other books up.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

4. Wires and Nerve – Marissa Meyer

I loved Iko in The Lunar Chronicles, she had one of the funniest and sassiest lines ever (and is the most fangirl of all fangirl for Kai and Cinder). When I heard that there’s going to be an Iko story, I wanted it immediately. What piqued my interest even more was that it’s a graphic novel. Wires and Nerve is my first ever graphic novel, and based on my love for TLC, I’ll love this as well. I can’t wait!!

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

5. Anna and the French Kiss & Isla and the Happily Ever After & Lola and the Boy Next Door – Stephanie Perkins

Aside from the fantasy novels, I picked up 3 contemporary. I don’t read much contemporary novels because I’m such a fantasy junkie, but these three had been on my TBR for years so I decided it was time for some cute romance stories. From what I know, these are standalones, there’s no crossovers or anything like that.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

6. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (illustrated version) by JK Rowling & Jim Kay

There’s no explanation for this, I just simply needed this beauty.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

7. Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy by Cassandra Clare

Already read all the novellas, but I didn’t have the physical copy. Read this before Lady Midnight if you are thinking about starting The Dark Artifices! You’ll be so extremely SHOOK, like I was.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

8. Fairyloot anniversary box

My first ever loot box and I’m in love. I was literally jumping around in excitement when I opened it up. IT WAS GLORIOUSSS! I’m planning on doing a post about it during mid-April so that I won’t accidentally spoil people.

 


I think I got a pretty decent haul, if I say so myself. All these books were so hyped up by the book community and I managed to stay away from them for a while. The books that I’m looking forward the most are Six of Crows and Illuminae. I hope I won’t be disappointed, I really want to love them.

Hope you had a satisfying haul too!

img_7790

Leave a Reply

