march’17 wrap up

Unknowingly, I went into a reading/ blogging hiatus in March. The motivation to pick up a book wasn’t as huge as the previous two months. But, I managed to finish 5 books and a graphic novel!

  1. Obsidian and Onyx by Jennifer L. Armentrout

If you’re looking for cute yet angsty fantasy romance, the Lux series is a must read. Good-girl-falls-in-love-with-bad-boy trope may be overrated and cliche, but it’s a trope that I still love reading about. Besides, Katy is a blogger and a reader, how do you not want to read about her story? The chemistry between Daemon and her is A PLUS material. It can get a little too much occassionally, but I still love every moment of them together.

2. Opal and Origin by Jennifer L. Armentrout

The next two books in the Lux series are even more interesting and fun. I loved the old characters and the new, and found out that I had a immense hate for some (you know who if you read the series). Origin is my favourite out of the whole series, it’s intense yet I had all the warm and fuzzy feels because Daemon and Katy are OTP.

3. Opposition by Jennifer L. Armentrout

This finale took such a turn in the beginning and I was terrified for all the main character’s life. Jennifer L. Armentrout brought me on a rollercoaster ride. The action was epic. The characters were badass. And, SO MANY POP CULTURE REFERENCES!

4. Wires and Nerve by Marissa Meyer

Re-entering the lunar chronicles in Iko’s perspective was interesting. The graphic novel format was fun and it’s a total different experience as compared to reading it in the usual format. Iko is still slaying with her lines, and is consistently loyal and courageous. Unfortunately, graphic novels are so easy to go through that I have to impatiently wait for Volume 2. I miss the gang so much and now I have to wait until 2018.  To avoid spoilers, Wires and Nerve happens after Winter and before the epilogue in Stars Above.

  1. review: siege and storm by leigh bardugo (link)
  2. review: ruin and rising by leigh bardugo (link)
  3. review + discussion: a court of thorns and roses by sarah j maas (link)
  4. jan-mar book haul (link)
  5. march’17 wrap up

img_9170

“I’m going to get changed,” I said.
“Need help?”
“Wow. You’re so chivalrous, Daemon.”
His smile widened, flashing deep dimples. “Well, the experience would be mutually beneficial. I promise.”
– Onyx

Keep your eyes on the stars, and your feet on the ground.
– Teddy Roosevelt

Be the girl who decided to go for it.

 

experienced many firsts in march 2017. bleached my hair for the first time. got my first fairyloot box. first time reading a graphic novel.

dyed my hair at the end of march. wanted an ash grey colour but it turned out in a different colour. expectation vs reality comparison had never felt so real before. despite the outcome, i’m fine with my hair. i do miss my black hair though.. can’t wait for it to grow back, which i predict is going to take a couple of years. my hair grows real slow..

the fariyloot box was amazing, i’m going to write a post of it just for memories. knowing me i would want to have a record of it. i’m sentimental like that.

university applications are such a chore and insanely nerve-wrecking. i’m already mentally prepared that i won’t be able to attend local university (which are more prestigious in my country). i was pretty upset about it initially but fortunately, i managed to look past it. private university isn’t that bad either, just more pricey. i spent half the month looking through courses and schools, and deciding between the limited choices that i have. i was mentally drained everyday, i’m so glad that part is over. however, the waiting part isn’t as fun either.

 

that’s all for my march wrap up! it was a slack month for me, but i didn’t read or blog as much as i hoped so. hope everyone had a great march & happy april! see you in the next post.

love. belle.

 

Leave a Reply

