april’17 wrap up

hello friends! I can’t believe it’s already May, April seemed to pass so quickly. For April, I read 7 books. Two of which I’m crazily in love with- Strange the Dreamer and A Court of Mist and Fury. The full reviews will be linked, so if you’re interested, please check them out! (will link the reviews that aren’t posted yet in the future!)

img_0803

1.  Anna and the French Kiss, Lola and the Boy Next Door, Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins

These three books had been in my tbr since four years ago. FOUR YEARS! That’s insane. Recently I wanted some cute romcom books before going back to the usual fantasy reads, and I’m so happy that I picked up these three books. The romance in each book was amazing in their own ways, diversity is included, the struggles the characters faced were real.

2. Anything You Can Do by RS Grey

R.S Grey writes incredibly cute and witty romcom. Daisy and Lucas have this rivalry going on throughout their whole life, both of them went into the same field of medicine and recently moved back to their hometown. To Daisy’s horror, they were going to be practising medicine under the same roof. The tension between the two were palpable and extremely amusing. Read the book within six hours, I couldn’t put it down. It was addicting and entertaining. 4.5/5★.

Note: it’s New Adult so read at your own discretion.

3. Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor (review)

Absolutely fell in love with Strange the Dreamer, it’s perfection. I’ve read many fantasy books, but this book is unlike any others. Laini Taylor’s writing captured me instantly. Lazlo Strange was such a wonderful main character, he’s so full of dreams and kindness, and miracles. The story is magical and incredibly stunning. The way Laini Taylor weaves her story with such eloquence and ease is beautiful.

4. Oblivion by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Since this is in Daemon’s point of view in Obsidian, it’s really different yet so familiar. Seeing him struggle with his feelings and determining what is right and wrong, it showed a different side of him that nobody would have known based on the first book. 4/5★

5. A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas (review)

ooooooooh mygod. I’m speechless with ACOMAF. The improvement from ACOTAR is incredible. I’ve heard from so many people that ACOMAF is much better than ACOTAR, and I was so worried that I would be disappointed, but I wasn’t at all. I was continuously surprised by how much Sarah J Maas grew as a writer in such a short time. ACOMAF was much more entertaining, and had greater and more fulfilling plotlines. The characters in ACOMAF had so much depths and worked so well together. I want to be in their crew too. *sobs* After ACOMAF, I totally got another bookish crush. It’s impossible to not love him.

Note: has New Adult content so have discretion!

img_0955

1.  the liebster award (link)
2. review: anna and the french kiss by stephanie perkins (link)
3. fairyloot anniversary box (link)
4. april’17 wrap up

“A blank canvas has unlimited possibilities.”
– Isla and the Happily Ever After

“Beautiful and full of monsters?”
“All the best stories are.”
– Strange the Dreamer

May your choices reflect your hopes, not your fears.
– Nelson Mandela

I’ve been binge-reading a looooooot of manga this month, mostly shoujo manga which are aimed at teenage female readers. I’m recommending my top three manga that I love. The agonizing part is that most of the manga I have been reading are still in progress so I just threw myself into an unending journey.

Thanks to that, I found out something about myself. I’m particularly drawn towards manga males who have dark hair and have Kou Tanaka vibes from Ao Haru Ride (another fantastic shoujo anime/manga you totally have to watch/read).

1. Akatsuki no Yona (ongoing)

Genre: action, adventure, comedy, drama, fantasy, romance, shoujo, harem

My only wish for this manga, no matter how long it takes, is to get Yona and Hak together. They are perfect and cute together, my OTP FOREVER. I hesitated a little when I saw it has harem but I found out that it isn’t that bad. Yona is constantly surrounded by males since she’s on a quest to reunite the four dragons who could help her.

If you’re too lazy to read the manga, it was made into an anime which has only one season. It’s definitely not enough. The manga is also taking its time to publish, so I’m impatiently waiting for the subbed version.

128825

2. Namaikizakari (ongoing)

Genre: comedy, romance, school life, shoujo, sports

Yuki is the manager of a basketball team and Naruse is a talented basketball player. Basically, it’s about Naruse wooing Yuki the whole time, and her rejecting him every single time. Their back and forth banter are really interesting.

 

3.  Say I Love You / Suki-tte Ii na yo. (ongoing)

Genre: comedy, drama, romance, smut, school life, shoujo, slice of life

This manga has also been made into an anime. There isn’t a lot of smut in both the manga and anime, but I’m not 100% sure. Initially I watched the anime and when it ended, I thought that was it. However, it’s only recently that I found out the manga is still ongoing. Mei had hurtful experiences with friends in the past and believed that she’s better off alone until Yamato who found her intriguing and insisted on befriending her.


I’m currently super behind on reviews since I’ve totally ditched everything else other than books and manga. I’ll be working my way through that pile in May. Also, my tentative May tbr will include ACOWAR, reread of Lady Midnight and Lord of Shadows. It’s a very predictable pile I assume.

That’s the end of my wrap up! How was April for you guys?

love.belle.

 

Leave a Reply

