review: lola and the boy next door by stephanie perkins

LOLALola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins
Series: Anna and the French Kiss
Published June 1st 2014 by Usborne Publishing (first published September 29th 2011)
Genre: young adult, romance, contemporary

links: Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

rating: 4/5★

summary:

Budding designer Lola Nolan doesn’t believe in fashion… she believes in costume. The more expressive the outfit – the more sparkly, more wild – the better. And life is pretty close to perfect for Lola, especially with her hot rocker boyfriend.

That is, until the Bell twins, Calliope and Cricket return to the neighbourhood and unearth a past of hurt that Lola thought was long buried. So when talented inventor Cricket steps out from his twin sister’s shadow and back into Lola’s life, she must finally face up to a lifetime of feelings for the boy next door. Could the boy from Lola’s past be the love of her future?

It didn’t come as a surprise to me that I enjoyed Lola and the Boy Next Door as much as I did when I read Anna and the French Kiss. Though I wish there were more San Francisco scenes.

Lola loves dressing up, she’s into design and wigs and crafts bizarre costumes just for every day wear. She’s the exact opposite of me but that made me love her character. One thing that I loved more in Lola’s story was her family. Sure, they are strict with Lola and gives her strict protocols when she’s out with her rocker boyfriend they don’t approve of but they are so genuine, and supportive. Their love for Lola was so vivid and consistent throughout the book. I also loved that she has two dads. When I first read it, I was so pleased that there was a representation of the LGBT community.

Cricket Bell was her next door neighbour who recently moved back after leaving Lola alone. He is incredibly sweet, supportive and awkward. Additionally, he is Lola’s first love.

Like the first book, Lola and the Boy Next Door was filled with witty and hilarious moments. The dialogues are amazing and funny. I could feel Lola’s happiness, sadness and angst like they were my own.

I read Lola’s story in one day, I couldn’t put it down. Like Anna’s story, it was fascinating and addicting. In Lola and the Boy Next Door, it was about unhealthy relationships, finding and accepting your true self, opening your heart to possible adventures and letting go of the ‘what ifs’ and just say yes.

Tell me what you think about Lola and the Boy Next Door in the comments!

“When its right, it’s simple,” he says to my unmasked question.

love.belle

1492605094742
(my aesthetic for Lola and the Boy Next Door) 

2 thoughts on “review: lola and the boy next door by stephanie perkins

  1. Pingback: april’17 wrap up
  2. Pingback: may’17 wrap up

Leave a Reply

